2019 was a historic year for the East Kerry senior footballers so it should come as no surprise that they dominate the Killarney Advertiser Sport Team of the Year with 10 players in total.

In addition to those county champions from Spa, Glenflesk, Fossa, Gneeveguilla and Firies, stars from neighbouring clubs Dr Crokes, Killarney Legion and Kilcummin also made the cut.

All senior players from the Killarney/East Kerry region who lined out in the past 12 months were eligible for selection and performances in all competitions at both club and intercounty level were taken into consideration.

For the second year in a row, Kerry, Fossa and East Kerry star David Clifford has been named Player of the Year while Dr Crokes’ versatile midfielder/forward Mark O’Shea has been chosen as Young Player of the Year.


The Killarney Advertiser Team of the Year. Artwork: Adam Moynihan.



Veteran goalkeeper James Devane gets the nod between the posts after a string of impressive performances in the County Championship and his divisional teammates Jack Sherwood and Niall Donohue make the team at full and corner back respectively. The Firies clubmen are joined in the full back line by Cian Gammell of Legion who played a starring role as his club secured their first O’Donoghue Cup title since 1976.

At half back, Kilcummin’s Seán O’Leary is selected for the second year in a row with the athletic pairing of Dan O’Donoghue and Pa Warren rounding off the defence.

Young Player of the Year O’Shea also lined out at full forward for the Crokes but in this team he has been picked at midfield where he slots in alongside Liam Kearney of Spa.

The forward division is stacked with talent. James O’Donoghue was excellent for Legion all year so he gets the No. 10 jersey and for the second year in a row, Fossa’s Paudie Clifford is selected at centre forward. Dynamic Spa player Evan Cronin, who kicked four points from play in the county final against Dr Crokes, fills the other half forward spot at No. 12.

Tony Brosnan, who was terrific for Dr Crokes despite it being a disappointing year overall for the club, lines out in the corner next to Player of the Year David Clifford, while Clifford’s East Kerry colleague Darragh Roche is named in the other corner.

All told, five players – Sherwood, O’Leary, the Clifford brothers and Brosnan – have retained their places in the all-star line-up.


Pic: Brendan Moran/Sportsfile.