Lidl PPS Junior A Final
IS Killorglin v Loreto Cavan
Friday at 1pm

Between 1996 and 2007, Kerry teams contested eleven All Ireland Junior A finals, with IS Killorglin and Colaiste na Sceilge winning three in a row each. IS Killorglin added another title in 2005 and lost the 2007 final, but no Kerry team has been there since. The seeds have continued to be sown, however, most notably when IS Killorglin beat Tuam to claim the All Ireland Junior B title in 2016. The present year has been a good one for Ladies GAA in the colleges,and IS Killorglin have been the leading light.

They opened their Junior A campaign with convincing wins over Christ the King and Loreto Fermoy to top their group and qualify for the knockout stages. John the Baptist was a tougher proposition in the Munster semi-final, but a well-drilled ISK showed their class to emerge with a bit to spare.

Loreto Clonmel had ended their Senior A campaign just two weeks earlier (Clonmel are now in the All Ireland Final). IS Killorglin had learned lessons from that defeat, though, and this time a great team performance saw them win out in extra-time after a great game. The next one was even harder, as the All Ireland semi-final against Loreto Navan was re-fixed because of the snow. That didn’t deter ISK, who were able to switch on to a higher gear when needed and won out a tough battle.

IS Killorglin don’t rely on star players – their best asset is undoubtedly their cohesion and speed at the basic skills – but the positional sense and composure of sweeping linchpin Mairín Duffy, the industrial verve of team captain Cora Joy, and the razor sharp-shooting of Roisín Griffin in particular are stand-outs.

The management are very quick to heap praise on this teams attitude, application and work rate. A very determined and talented bunch of young ladies who will be looking forward to getting the chance playing in the decider of the top level of junior PPS football.

The panel is made up of girls from 1st to 4th year and includes club players from Laune Rangers, Cromane, Beaufort, Fossa, Kilcummin, and even 2 sisters from Chorca Dhuibhne.

IS Killorglin: Claire Fealey, Andrea Nolan, Eimear O’Connor, Kayleigh McGlashan, Shannon Foley, Beibhinn Brosnan, Orla Dunphy, Rachel Evans, Ailbhe Clifford, Nicole Moriarty, Cora Joy (captain), Eimear Burke, Mairín Duffy, Roisín Griffin, Fodhla Houlihan, Caitlin McMahon, Leanne Hayes, Nicole Moriarty, Tara Clifford, Sinead O’Neill, Amy Dunphy, Christina O’Brien, Hannah McGeever, Nessa Healy, Melanie Sugrue, Maeve Bellew, Grainne O’Connor, Holly Clifford, Aoife Nash Freeman, Orla O’Brien, Ailbhe Brosnan and Laura Leslie.

WP Facebook Auto Publish Powered By :