KILLARNEY ATHLETIC AFC celebrated their double-winning success in the Kerry District League in style on Saturday night. Killarney Racecourse was the venue, a mere stone’s throw from where it all began at the Half-Moon field provided by benefactor John McShain 52 years before.

The action kicked off with a warm welcome for Don Harrington from Huddersfield, club founder and president and his wife’s family, including nieces Máiréad (and husband Michael), Áine and nephew Pádraig. Also in attendance were local public representatives Junior Minister of State for Transport, Tourism and Sport Brendan Griffin, Senator Paul Coghlan and Mayor of Kerry, John Sheahan. The Kerry District League was represented by Seán O’Keeffe, chairman, along with Tadhg Brosnan, vice-chairman of the Schoolboys/girls League. A crowd of close to 200 club supporters in many guises – current and former players, managers, officers, parents, sponsors and all-round supporters – took their seats just in time to witness the irrepressible Mike Milner and his bagpipes lead the victorious team through to the dining room to rapturous applause.

After a sumptuous meal, provided by Kingdom Catering, the formal proceedings began. Don Harrington and Máiréad Murphy were on hand to present Gerardine Nagle with the Monica Harrington Memorial Cup Killarney Athletic AFC Club Person of the Year for her impressive contribution as club and county Child Welfare Officer, Vice-Chairperson of the Kerry District League, along with her involvement with the elite Kerry Under 17 team, travelling with them and looking after their welfare.

Chairman Mike O’Shea presented Joe Daly with the Donal Brosnan Memorial Cup Killarney Athletic AFC Club Person of the Year for his long-term service as vice-chairman, club coach and committed club man. Kerrie Beckett and senior talisman Paudie O’Connor stepped up to present Shane Lynch with the Sean O’Connor/Martin Beckett Memorial Perpetual Cup Player of the Year Award. Shane made a major contribution to the senior team’s success with a number of impressive performances, including a goal in the 3-0 Greyhound Cup final win.

Main pic above: The double winning Killarney Athletic squad with team managers Stuart Templeman and Alan Brady and Chairman Mike O’Shea.